Listen Live
WERE AM Mobile App 2020


News Talk Cleveland Featured Video

Sales tax holiday balloon

via Wkyc:

For shoppers in 10 states, this is the weekend to shop for the kids.

Millions of American families with children who are school- or college-bound will have the chance to save a few dollars as Arkansas, Florida, Iowa, Missouri, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Virginia and Wisconsin hold sales tax holidays.

They’re following on the heels of Tennessee, Mississippi and Alabama which offered a tax break in July.

Three more states – Texas, Maryland and Connecticut – will have holidays later in August.

Massachusetts also is expected to give residents a tax break Aug. 11 to 12 after lawmakers approved the two-day tax holiday Wednesday. Gov. Charlie Baker still needs to sign off on it.

Residents in Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire and Oregon don’t need a sales tax holiday to help get ready for the new school year since those states don’t have a state sales tax rate, according to data from the Sales Tax Institute.

CLICK HERE to read full story

LOCAL NEWS: Tax Free Weekend 2018: These States Offer Tax-Free Shopping For Back To School  was originally published on