Pro-Choice Crowd Demonstrating at Abortion Rights March

Source: Viviane Moos / Getty

It is being reported that the twice vetoed ban on abortions after 1st heartbeat is being sent to the governor and that it will more than likely be signed by Republican Governor Mike Dewine.

WERE AM Mobile App 2020


Text CLEVELAND to 23845 to join our text club to join our sister station 93.1 WZAK's text club be notified first of contests, breaking news and more in The LAND!

Click Here To Listen Yellow

Five other states have now passed similar bans, Mississippi, Kentucky and Georgia, two Iowa and North Carolina, have been blocked by the courts.

The bill would ban abortion as soon as six weeks into a pregnancy the penalties could be according to

Doctors and others who perform an abortion after a heartbeat has been detected or when failing to do an abdominal or transvaginal ultrasound before an abortion are punished under SB 23, including:

  • Facing a fifth-degree felony, punishable by six to 12 months behind bars and a $2,500 fine.

  • Doctors would face further disciplinary action before the State Medical Board of Ohio – including revoking or suspending a license. A $20,000 Medical Board fine would go into a new state fund for foster-care and adoption services.

  • Women could sue abortion providers for wrongful death under the bill, and a doctor couldn’t use as legal justification that the measure is unconstitutional unless a court rules it so.

Take a look at the reactions to the listeners of the Sam Sylk Show in a LIVE Video below

View this post on Instagram

Callers respond to the heartbeat 💓 abortion ban

A post shared by Sam Sylk (@samsylk) on

Live On The Sam Sylk Show: Ban on Abortions After 1st Heartbeat !?  was originally published on