Diana Ross will no longer be the Susan Lucci of the Grammys.

After earning 12 nominations throughout her career with zero wins, she’ll join Glen Campbell and the Allman Brothers Band in receiving special Grammy Awards in recognition of their lifetime achievements, according to Reuters.

The Supremes star will receive the prestigious accolade for her career spanning nearly five decades, while country singer Campbell and blues stars the Allman Brothers Band will each pick up the trophies for their continuing critical and commercial success.

Officials at the Recording Academy announced the recipients on Wednesday (Dec. 21, 2011), with President Neil Portnow congratulating the honorees for making “lasting impressions on our culture”.

Country singer George Jones and musical duo Memphis Horns will also be feted, while Gil Scott-Heron and pianist/guitarist Carlos Jobim will receive posthumous tributes.

Others set to be recognized are late Apple co-founder Steve Jobs, recording engineer Rudy Van Gelder and songwriter Dave Bartholomew – all three have been named recipients of the Trustees Awards for their non-performance musical contributions.

The honors will be handed out at a ceremony in Los Angeles on Feb. 11, 2012 – the night before the 54th Annual Grammy Awards.

via eurweb