via Digital News Report

Daylight savings time is in effect as of this Sunday, March 13, 2011. At 2 a.m., this is when most the United States changed their clocks to one hour ahead in order to adjust to the new current time. As you grumble about losing an hour of sleep this Saturday, here is some history and information about why we change our clocks each year.

Daylight Savings begins in the Spring and ends in the Fall. If you can remember that it is like a race for the year that you want to get ahead in the beginning of the year to hurry up to summer and in the Fall you want to fall back an hour to put off winter. There is another saying that is easy to remember. Spring ahead and Fall Back. Which is move one hour in advance in the Spring and in the Fall you go back one hour for the new current time.

There are exceptions to which areas observe the Daylight Savings Time. Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and the majority of Arizona don’t change their clocks and remain in standard time. The only place in Arizona that does participate in Daylight Savings is on the Navajo Indian Reservation. Indiana used to not participate in parts, but the state passed laws to make Daylight Savings Time observed statewide beginning in 2006.

Read Full Story

Article courtesy

Also On WERE-AM 1490:
National March Against Police Violence in DC [PHOTOS]
26 photos